03
Jul
10

Faith Cometh by Hearing


20/20 in 120 is featuring Derilene McCloud, radio host of “Life Lessons from Movies” ALL MONTH LONG.  Check it out on the INTERVIEWS tab.  Send Derilene a comment or ask her a question right here on 20/20 in 120 in the COMMENTS section.

 

Be sure to SUBSCRIBE!  Our goal is 120 subscribers by September 1st!

****************************************************

Faith is defined as:

Belief that is not based on proof; confidence or trust in a person or thing.

     When I was growing up in church I would hear the minister read,

So then faith cometh by hearing and hearing by the word of God.” ( Romans 10:17) 

    When you’re young this doesn’t make sense.  I didn’t know what faith meant and I had never heard God call me on the “mainline” or talk to me directly from the sky.  I concluded faith was not something I was meant to understand and relied on what I could see and feel.  As I got older I could logically explain this idea of faith, but it usually manifested itself inside the four walls of the sanctuary on Sundays.  Now faith is something I not only understand, but also, feel.  The Book of Eli* brilliantly presents the power of faith and the work and time that must go into developing your faith.

     It’s true you must have faith to succeed in life, but so few of us understand it, let alone possess it.  In The Book of Eli, Eli (Denzel Washington) has faith that does more than evoke belief it evokes action.  I won’t tell you too much about the way this story plays out because you need to see this one to believe it.  However, for all the faith chasers reading I will tell you the main message this movie conveys:  “Faith without works is dead.” (James 2:17)

     Real faith, real belief, and real confidence produces action.  Your destiny, your next level, your very existence depends on your faith.  If you believe then do something about it.  Prove it.  We live like the proof should come before the faith, but it’s definitely the other way around.  When you have faith you will start to do things that tell the world you believe.  If you believe exercise is the key to life, you will exercise.  If you believe saving your money ensures early retirement, you will save your money.  If you believe God is love and light, you will want to adopt those characteristics and be love and light.  If you believe in yourself then take a chance on you…take a chance on the thing that’s calling you and keeping you awake at night.  Have a little faith in you.  See you after the show.        

     *The Book of Eli (2010)-Denzel Washington, Gary Oldman, Mila Kunis. Written by: Gary Whitta.  Directed by: Albert & Allen HughesAvailable on DVD.

 

TRIVIA TRIO

Can you guess what movies gave us the following quotes? Be the first to post the answers and impress us all. Can you do it without Google? I dare you.

Last week’s answers:

–          “My son is dying, and I’m broke. If I don’t qualify for Medicare, WHO THE HELL DOES?”-DENZEL WASHINGTON-John Q

–         “We didn’t land on Plymouth Rock. Plymouth Rock landed on us.”-DENZEL WASHINGTON-Malcolm X

–         “To protect the sheep you gotta catch the wolf, and it takes a wolf to catch a wolf.” DENZEL WASHINGTON-Training Day

This week’s trio –

–          “I could be agent M.”

–          “Ease on down the road.”

–          “You ain’t bad, you ain’t nothing.”

NEXT FRIDAY-July 9, 2010>>>>> Potluck and Previews


0 Responses to “Faith Cometh by Hearing”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment


20/20 in 120 Archives

Calendar

July 2010
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to 20/20 in 120 and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other subscribers